Mining and pools, need some good advice

Started by Kontvolkoren, May 03, 2021, 07:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kontvolkoren

So, I think I'm starting to understand why people are joining big pools like herominers.com...

I'm fairly new to mining, started this year. First with Nicehash(Bitcoin) and now that I've fully switched back to Linux again, with Xmrig. I'm also mining some Ethereum with my graphics card.

I started mining Monero for a month at xmrpool.eu, and already earned around 4 $WOW in two days.

Because of the decentralization issue, I decided to start mining at wowne.ro, and haven't earned anything so far. On their website, it says it found a block 18 hours ago and it looks like there's a pending payment of less than 4 $WOW.

Maybe I'm missing something, I'm not entirely sure how everything works, but this doesn't motivate at all, to join a small mining pool.

**To give a better picture:**
herominers.com: 2 days mining with 1KH/s: 4 $WOW earned
wowne.ro: 10 days mining with 15-20KH/s: Nothing earned yet, probably less than 4 $WOW soon?

Should I try a different pool instead? Or is it worth it to just solo mine?

Maybe someone can give me some good advice.

wowario

difficulty has gone up with the recent price rise, so it is getting harder for smaller pools to find blocks. Your hashes still count and when the pool finds a block, you'll receive in proportion to the accepted hashes.